Truth

Sherrill Jacob
2 min readNov 6, 2020

--

This morning I experienced revelation. It is when clearness is in your eyes but to such a degree that it is a globe of wholeness, where things (not only thoughts) stay in their place and an invisible strand becomes a real line touching each entity so that loose particles are now connected. These strands weave among particles bringing only those that belong into this holy realm.

Once I found a black rock while hiking in the west desert where my father ran his sheep. It was rough and gravelly, but fine gravel with all parts hard and connected. It was the size of the palm of my hand and remarkably weighty, if that is the correct word. Was it heavy? Was it light? It just felt unbalance in it’s ratio of density and air. I loved this rock, as much as a young child can love a rock. The rock entertained me in that even though it was remarkably uneven and rough it could flash flat bright light reflections. How could this magic rock do that? Fifty years later and still being a rock hound I have never forgotten my rock. I still miss it.

This is how I became parted from my rock. My uncle Jay was known for his intelligence in math and had a job where he could evaluate and test rocks so my mother decided to give him my rock for evaluation. I never saw my rock ever again. I was promised before I gave it up that it would be returned but like my pet lamb who departed in a similar exchange for something better never was seen in this life by me ever again. Do parents know what they do to their credibility when they disregard their child’s right to ownership or promises kept? These two losses were only the start of preparation in the ability we humans come to know what it means to be human, to endure, and to forgive.

--

--

Sherrill Jacob

What a great idea. Glad to discover medium. Oct 16 2020 is first day. “When someone gets something for nothing, someone else gets nothing for something.”