Sherrill Jacob
2 min readOct 23, 2020

How to get adult children to listen…..

That is a question, not an answer. But if they would listen then this is what I would say:

“Listen up all you little children who have not looked back since leaving home. Your mother is telling the family secrets on an international venue.” Not only should they listen but they will pay you not to write. This is a wonderful idea to get your children’s money before they spend it on all those new gadgets, cars, vacation homes, etc., that they already have enough of. It is called sharing the wealth.

I recorded a 15 minute video of myself talking to my children that is in their inheritance box that they get after I die. It turned out so good that I think I will put it on Medium. I really don’t have to worry they will see it before I die. Who am I kidding? My children who don’t even call on the telephone that much won’t notice. They will not see this video, they have so many better ‘in their mind’ things to do.

I am excited about their inheritance boxes. This is where I can put all those precious nick nacks I still cannot force myself to sell or part with. And all six of my children will get their own copy of the book called ‘Frog’ by photographer Thomas Marent. Have you seen this book? Everyone should have their own copy. This book is one of the best examples of our creator’s ability to create and is evident in the numerous colorful designs of one creature, the common and exotic frog. Perhaps my favorite picture in the whole book is the author himself, completely in the mud, to photo his elusive subjects.

Sherrill Jacob

What a great idea. Glad to discover medium. Oct 16 2020 is first day. “When someone gets something for nothing, someone else gets nothing for something.”